florida driving information
Curious about clearing points from your Florida driving record or filing an accident report? We've got the Florida-based facts to help conquer your curiosity once and for all.
Florida driving information
Number of licensed drivers: 14,005,000
Registered vehicles: 15,315,000 (third-most in the U.S.)
Licensing and registration authority: Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
State traffic info: Call 5-1-1 for travel times and traffic tips.
Total number of public roads in length: 121,447 miles (11th-most in the U.S.)
Violations, car accidents, and driving hazards
The Florida point system and your driving record
If you're convicted of a moving violation, you'll likely have 3 to 4 points added to your driving record. More serious violations, like speeding that leads to a crash, can add 6 points.
If you tally a certain number of points in a certain timeframe, your license can be suspended:
- 12 points within a 12 month-month period: 30-day suspension
- 18 points within a 18-month period: 3-month suspension
- 24 points within a 36-mohth period: 1-year suspension
Taking a basic driver improvement course
If you're convicted of a moving violation, you may be able to attend a Florida driving school to keep points off your record.
Find more info on Florida's highway safety website.
Reporting an accident in Florida
If you're involved in an accident that causes injury or $500 in property damage, you're required to report it to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles within 10 days.
Drivers in the military
If you're deployed, you or your spouse can renew your license by mail or online through gorenew.com.
DUIs in Florida
For first-time DUI convictions, drivers can expect a $500–$1,000 fine and face other penalties including jail time, community service, and a suspended license. If the driver's BAC is above .15 (or if there was a minor in the car), fines increase to $1,000–$2,000.
A DUI conviction can also have a lasting impact on car insurance. Some drivers are legally required to carry $100,000/$300,000 (per person/per accident) bodily injury liability and $50,000 property damage liability coverage.
Drivers convicted of certain offenses (DUIs, failure to provide proof of insurance) may be required to file one of these forms with the state. These 2 forms certify financial responsibility in the form of higher-than-normal liability coverage limits.
A recent National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB) report shows that the most-stolen vehicles in Florida are:
- 2006 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 2000 Honda Civic
- 1996 Honda Accord
- 1997 Nissan Altima
- 2011 Toyota Camry
- 1996 Nissan Maxima
- 2000 Dodge Caravan
- 1999 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 2004 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 2010 Toyota Corolla
Regions with the most car theft
- Miami / Fort Lauderdale
- Orlando / Kissimmee / Sanford
- Tampa / St.Petersburg / Clearwater
Driving in bad weather
It is called the Sunshine State, but weather conditions can change in a flash.
The Florida Highway Patrol offers tips for driving through standing water and other tricky conditions, along with links to state emergency services.
Moving to Florida
Florida requires you to register your car within 10 days of:
- Becoming a Florida resident
- Being employed in the state
- Enrolling your children in FL public schools
Getting a drivers license
If you become a resident of the state, you'll have 30 days to get your FL drivers license.
Young drivers in Florida
Graduated licensing requirements
- Minimum age for a learner's license: 15 years old
- Minimum holding period: 1 year (without traffic violations)
- Minimum age for an intermediate license: 16 years old
- Minimum age restrictions lifted: 18 years old
Getting your license
When teens turn 18, they can get their full, unrestricted drivers license.
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
For more information about state driving laws, you can always check out the state's registration and licensing department.
Florida car insurance
Our fact sheet explains what the legally required minimums, the discounts you could score with Esurance, and more.
Tips for handling a flood
Check out Floodsmart.gov for pointers when weather conditions get wet.
Stay safe in high winds
Get some safe-driving tips for withstanding the high winds of a FL hurricane.