delaware driver information
Hi there, Delaware driver. Take a spin through our guide to find info on driving record points, licensing laws, and distracted driving in the First State.
Delaware driving information
Number of licensed drivers: 700,000
Registered vehicles: 843,000
Licensing and registration authority: Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles
Total miles of public roads: 6,302 (third-fewest in the country, after Hawaii and D.C.)
Average commuting time to work: 24.1 minutes (national average: 25.2)
Delaware traffic violations and your driving record
Delaware can apply points to your driving record for speeding and other moving violations. Driving 1–9 mph over the speed limit can add 2 points, while ignoring a stop sign could add 3 points. Other offenses, like passing a stopped school bus, can add 6 points.
If you accrue 14 points within 2 years, your drivers license could be suspended for 4 months. Points that have been on your record for one year would be cut in half for the second year.
DUI penalties and your driving record
Motorists caught driving with a BAC under .15 could lose their license for one year. If a BAC is between .15 and .19, the suspension could be 18 months, with fines ranging from $500 to $1,500. Jail time could be from 60 days to 6 months after a first offense.
DUIs remain on a Delaware driving record for a minimum of 5 years.
All Delaware drivers are banned from using handheld phones while driving. Texting and driving is also illegal.
Reporting accidents in Delaware
You're legally required to call the police if you're involved in an accident that results in injuries, $500 or more in property damage, or involves a driver who appears to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Drivers in the military
If you're an active military member stationed outside of Delaware, you can wait to renew your expiring drivers license and registration until you return to the state. This grace period also applies to your dependents.
Stolen cars in Delaware
According to data from the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB), Dover reported the state's greatest number of stolen cars (243) in 2011.
Most commonly stolen vehicles in Delaware in 2011
- 2000 Honda Civic
- 1996 Honda Accord
- 1997 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 2001 Chevrolet Impala
- 2001 Nissan Altima
- 1998 Acura Integra
- 2007 Dodge Caravan
- 2002 Ford Explorer
- 2000 Toyota Camry
- 1998 Dodge Pickup (full size)
Moving to Delaware
Once you become a resident of the First State, you have 60 days to register your car and get your Delaware drivers license. If your out-of-state license is still current, you may not have to take the written and road tests.
Young drivers in Delaware
First-time drivers in the First State who are under 18 go through the graduated licensing program. Here are some highlights:
- Minimum permit age: 16 years old
- Complete a state-certified drivers education course
- Complete 50 hours of parent/guardian-supervised driving (10 at night) while on permit
- Be accompanied by a licensed driver 25 or older for first 6 months; may drive alone between 6 a.m.–10 p.m. after 6 months
- Only one passenger allowed while on permit (not including supervising driver or family)
- Minimum Class D license age: 17 years old
- Have permit for 12 months before applying
Getting a first drivers license
After you've had your permit for 12 months and haven't lost your driving privileges for any reason, your permit will automatically convert into a Class D license.
Esurance guide to car insurance in Delaware
Visit our Delaware page to find out what's required, what can impact your rate, and more.
Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles
The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles has a website for all of your licensing and vehicle registration needs.