delaware car insurance
Welcome, Delaware drivers. We gathered important info on liability coverage, optional add-ons, and factors that determine what you pay for car insurance in the First State.
Delaware car insurance
All Delaware drivers are required to maintain certain coverages and limits, including liability coverage and personal injury protection (PIP) coverage.
Carry your proof of insurance in your car's glove box in case you're pulled over or get into an accident.
Liability coverage can help pay others' expenses if you're found at fault in a car accident. At minimum, your policy needs to have the following limits:
- $15,000 bodily injury coverage per person
- $30,000 bodily injury coverage per incident
- $10,000 property damage coverage per incident
You'll often see these limits written as 15/30/10.
Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage
After a car accident, PIP coverage can help cover medical expenses for you and your passengers, regardless of fault.
Your (PIP) coverage needs to have the following limits:
- $15,000 PIP per person
- $30,000 PIP per incident
Buying car insurance in Delaware
Esurance doesn't currently offer car insurance to Delaware drivers, but we can help you find the right policy.
Start your quote here.
Factors that could influence what you pay for your policy
The following could affect your car insurance rate in Delaware:
- Driving record and claims history
- Age and gender
- Marital status
- Make and model of your car
- Applicable discounts
- Coverages, limits, and deductibles
- Vehicle usage
- ZIP Code
- Credit-based insurance score
Optional car insurance coverages in Delaware
With most providers, you'll be able to add the following coverages to your policy:
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Uninsured motorist coverage
- Underinsured motorist coverage
- Towing and labor coverage
- Rental car coverage
Collision and comprehensive may be required by your loan or finance company.
Uninsured drivers in Delaware
According to a recent survey by the Insurance Research Council (IRC), 11 percent of Delaware drivers were uninsured. This was below the national average of 13.8 percent, but it still makes for a good deal of risky motorists out there.
Although it's not required, uninsured motorist coverage can come in handy if you're in a crash caused by an insured driver.
Alternative car insurance options
Drivers who have unsuccessfully applied for coverage with at least 2 auto insurance companies can notify the Delaware Insurance Commissioner's office. You may be eligible for an assigned risk program that automatically places you with an insurer.
Delaware driver info
Find stats, laws, and licensing info that's relevant to the Delaware driver.
Esurance Coverage Counselor®
Spend a few minutes with our online counselor for a personalized policy recommendation.
Delaware's Instant Insurance Guide (PDF)
Delaware's Insurance Commissioner created this handy guide to car insurance in the First State.