connecticut driver information
Your resource for stats, laws, and info that's relevant to the Connecticut driver. Read on for a better sense of the driving scene in the Nutmeg State.
Connecticut driver information
Number of licensed drivers: 2,916,000
Registered vehicles: 3,072,000
Licensing and registration authority: Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Points on your Connecticut drivers license
If you're convicted of a moving violation, the state may add between 1 and 5 points to your driving record (depending on the type of violation).
Points remain on your driving record for 2 years. If you get 10 points or more during a 2-year period, your drivers license will be suspended for 30 days.
DUIs and your driving record
Penalties for a first-time conviction for driving under the influence (for drivers 21 and older with a BAC between 0.08 and 0.15) include at least a 90-day license suspension. Penalties increase for younger drivers, higher BAC levels, and subsequent convictions.
Reporting accidents in Connecticut
We recommend calling the police to the scene of any accident, but you're legally required to report all accidents to the police that result in death, injuries, or property damage.
Drivers in the military
Active military personnel can renew their Connecticut drivers licenses for free. To renew by mail, your current license must have your picture on it.
Download the license fee waiver form here (PDF).
Registration is also free for active military personnel, including renewal registration fees, temporary plate fees, safety plate fees, and clean air act fees.
Fill out this registration form to qualify (PDF).
Military personnel who are stationed in Connecticut and have a valid license from their home state do not have to get a Connecticut license.
Moving to Connecticut
Once you are an official resident of the state, you have 30 days to get your Connecticut license. Whether or not you have to take a driving or knowledge test is up to the licensing agent at your local DMV.
According to the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB), the New Haven-Milford area had the most stolen cars (2,079) in Connecticut in 2011.
Here are the state's top 10 most stolen cars of 2011:
- 1997 Honda Accord
- 1998 Honda Civic
- 1995 Acura Integra
- 1998 Nissan Maxima
- 1999 Toyota Camry
- 1999 Dodge Caravan
- 2005 Nissan Altima
- 1996 Toyota Corolla
- 1997 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Getting a drivers license
All new drivers are required to take a road test. After passing the test, you're eligible for a drivers license.
Young drivers in Connecticut
Graduated licensing requirements (for those under 18)
- Minimum permit age: 16 years; must first pass vision screening and road-knowledge test before receiving permit
- Minimum permit holding period: 4-6 months, depending on driver education type
Connecticut car insurance
Find out what coverages you'll need and what discounts you could score with Esurance can offer there.
The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
This is the official site for all your licensing and vehicle registration needs.
Connecticut Department of Transportation
Find up-to-the-minute traffic, weather, and street construction info right here.