arkansas driver information
Welcome to our overview of driving in Arkansas, a state that allows certain 14-year-olds to legally drive. You'll find relevant stats and info on the state's traffic laws, graduated licensing program, and a whole lot more.
Arkansas driving information
Number of licensed drivers: 2,065,000
Registered vehicles: 2,037,000
Registration authority: The Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicle
Licensing authority: The Arkansas Office of Driver Services
Average commuting time to work: 21.1 minutes (national average: 25.2 minutes)
Traffic violations and car accidents
If you're convicted of a moving violation, Arkansas may add points to your driving record. These points range from 1–8, depending on the severity of the offense. A speeding violation can add anywhere from zero to 10 points, running a red light can add 3 points, and reckless driving can tack on 8 points.
If you rack up 10–13 points, you'll receive a warning letter. Accumulating 14 points or more leads to a suspended drivers license.
Since your driving record has a significant impact on what you pay for car insurance, maintaining a clean record can go a long way toward helping you save on your premium.
DUI/DWI penalties in Arkansas
Driving with a BAC of .08 or higher, or refusing a BAC test at the scene, can lead to a 6-month license suspension for first-time offenders. If this happens again within a 5-year span, a driver's license will likely be suspended for 2 years.
Convicted drivers will need to complete an alcohol education or treatment program and pay a reinstatement fee in order to restore driving privileges.
All drivers are banned from texting while driving in Arkansas. Drivers between the ages of 18 and 20 aren't allowed to use handheld cell phones, and novice drivers aren't permitted to use cell phones at all (including hands-free devices).
Reporting accidents in Arkansas
We recommend calling the police to the scene of any car accident, no matter how minor the damage appears. But you're not always legally required to report an accident.
Whenever you're involved in a car accident that results in injuries or more than $1,000 in property damage, you're required to report it. You can do this by filling out the Safety Responsibility SR-1 Accident Report within 30 days.
Stolen cars in Arkansas
According to the latest report by the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB), the Little Rock and Conway areas reported the most thefts (2,774 stolen cars). The area of Arkansas that's considered part of the Memphis statistical area reported even more thefts (4,036).
Most commonly stolen vehicles in Arkansas
- 1994 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 2004 Ford Pickup
- 1994 Honda Accord
- 2001 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 1994 GMC Pickup (full size)
- 1999 Chevrolet Pickup (small size)
- 1993 Toyota Camry
- 1989 Chevrolet Caprice
- 2006 Chevrolet Impala
- 1995 Ford Explorer
License and registration
You have 30 days to get your new drivers license after moving to Arkansas.
If your out-of-state license has been expired between 31 days and one year, you'll have to take a written exam and a vision test. If your out-of-state license is more than a year expired, you'll also have to take the road test.
Getting your car registered in Arkansas
Once you become an Arkansas resident, you have 30 days to title and register your vehicle.
Drivers in the military
If you're deployed and have an expiring Arkansas drivers license, you may be able to renew by mail. Call 501-682-7059 to learn more.
Young driver requirements in Arkansas
Arkansas has a graduated licensing program that starts at the age of 14. New drivers will go through the following process before earning an unrestricted class D drivers license:
- Minimum learners license age: 14 years old
- Tests required to get a learners license: written, vision, and road exam
- Minimum holding period: 6 months
- Minimum intermediate license age: 16 years old
- Drivers with a learners license must have no serious driving violations within the 6-month period prior to applying for an intermediate license
- Nighttime restrictions: 11 p.m.–4 a.m.
- Passenger restrictions: must have a licensed driver who is 21 or older if you're driving an unrelated passenger who is under 21 years old
- Minimum age restrictions lifted: 18 years old
Getting a first unrestricted drivers license
You're eligible for a regular license when you turn 18. The class D license will be automatically issued after your intermediate license expires if you haven't had any serious traffic convictions within the previous 12 months.
Arkansas car insurance
Browse through our handy guide to car insurance in Arkansas.
Esurance Coverage Counselor®
We'll help you customize a policy that meets your needs and budget.
Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicle
The Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicle has a website for all your vehicle registration needs.
Arkansas Office of Driver Services
For any questions about licensing, check out the Arkansas Office of Driver Services website.