arkansas car insurance
Welcome to our quick guide to Arkansas car insurance. We'll map out your legal requirements and possible discounts, and explain how we can help you find the right car insurance policy so you can get back to enjoying Arkansas' great outdoors.
Arkansas car insurance
Arkansas drivers are legally required to carry liability coverage with at least the following limits:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per incident
- $25,000 of property damage coverage per incident
You'll often see these limits expressed as 25/50/25.
Personal injury protection (also known as no-fault coverage)
Personal injury protection, or PIP, is optional in Arkansas. You can choose one or more of the 3 parts, or none at all. If you choose to decline PIP, you'll need to decline it in writing (your insurance company can help).
The 3 parts of PIP in Arkansas:
- Medical and hospital benefits, which can help pay for your medical bills after a car accident (regardless of who caused it)
- Income disability benefits, which offers financial protection if you need to miss time from work due to injuries sustained in an accident
- Accidental death benefits
PIP covers you and your passengers, as well as pedestrians and cyclists who are hit by your car, regardless of fault. It doesn't cover property damage (like car repairs).
Esurance in Arkansas
We brought our car insurance to Arkansas drivers in 2012. Seems like yesterday…
Optional coverages available to Arkansas drivers
- Comprehensive coverage
- Collision coverage
- CarMatch Rental Car™ coverage
- Towing and labor
- Customized parts and equipment coverage
- Loan/lease gap coverage
- Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage
- Uninsured motorist property damage coverage
- Underinsured motorist property damage coverage
Esurance discounts in Arkansas
When you buy an Esurance car insurance policy in Arkansas, you could qualify for the following discounts:
- Multi-Car discount
- Homeowners discount
- Paid in Full discount
- DriveSense™ discount
- Switch & Save® discount
- Claim-Free discount
- Good Student discount
- Education discount
- Mature Driver discount
If you already have an Esurance policy, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262) if you have any questions about your discounts. Keep in mind that some exclusions may apply.
Esurance-approved car repair shops
Esurance customers can take their damaged cars to shops in our E-star® network. These reputable body shops feature RepairView™ online repair monitoring and guaranteed repairs.
Find an E-star shop near you.
Factors that can impact your Arkansas premium
- Age and gender
- Marital status
- Driving record and claims history
- Make and model of your car
- Where you live
- Your credit-based insurance score
- The coverages, deductibles, and limits you choose
Proof of car insurance
Carrying your proof of insurance (typically an insurance ID card) in your car is legally required. Failure to provide proof on request can result in a $25 fine.
Uninsured drivers in Arkansas
According to a 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council (IRC), an estimated 16 percent of Arkansas drivers were uninsured. That's about 1 in 6 drivers — above the national average of 13.8 percent.
While it's not required in Arkansas, uninsured motorist coverage offers financial protection from the uninsured. This can come in handy after an accident caused by a driver who can't pay for your post-accident expenses.
Alternative car insurance options
Drivers who are unable to get a traditional car insurance policy can have an agent look into the state-sponsored Assigned Risk Plan.
Driving in Arkansas
Browse through our guide to Arkansas' driving laws and licensing info.
Esurance Coverage Counselor®
Spend a few minutes here for a personalized Arkansas policy recommendation.
Arkansas' official guide to car insurance (PDF)
The Arkansas Insurance Department publishes this handy overview for Arkansas drivers.