alaska driver information
Welcome to our overview of Alaska driving. We've got the lowdown on everything you need to know about driving in the Last Frontier, from Off-Highway licenses to young driver requirements and the most stolen cars in Alaska.
Info for Alaska drivers
Number of licensed drivers: 537,488
Registered vehicles: 932,411
Licensing and registration authority: Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Since the Last Frontier is home to rural communities not serviced by local Alaska DMVs, "Off-Highway" licenses are available for their residents. Drivers with an "Off-Highway" license can drive on roads that are not connected to the Alaska State Highway System.
Check with the DMV for more info on how to apply for an "Off-Highway" license.
Number of car and light truck fatalities in 2009: 40, the lowest of any state in the U.S.
Average commuting time to work: 18.1 minutes (national average: 25.2 minutes)
Gallons of fuel used in 2011: 297,565,661 (fewest of any state)
Your Alaska driving record
The state applies points for moving violations to a driver's official record. These points range from 2 to 10, depending on the severity of the violation. Getting 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months leads to a suspended drivers license.
Your driving record is a key factor in determining what you pay for car insurance. So the fewer points you have, the less you can expect to pay.
DUIs in Alaska
A DUI in Alaska is costly. Not only will it stay on a driver's official record for life, but the average DUI ends up costing the driver $24,265.
All drivers are banned from texting while driving in Alaska.
Reporting accidents in Alaska
If you get into an accident resulting in injuries, death, or more than $500 in property damage, you'll have 15 days to report the accident and provide proof of insurance to the DMV. If you don't report these types of accidents within 15 days, penalties can include a 90-day license suspension.
If anyone is injured or you believe there could be more than $2,000 in property damage, call the local police department. If you're outside of a municipality, contact the Alaska State Troopers.
Your Alaska drivers license
New residents of Alaska have 30 days to get their Alaska drivers licenses.
If you're in the state for 90 days (or fewer) and have a valid license from your home state, you don't need an Alaska drivers license.
Drivers in the military
If you're an active member of the military (or are married to one), your Alaska drivers license will automatically remain valid for as long as you're on duty. You and your spouse will have 90 days after your discharge or return to Alaska to renew your licenses.
Young driver requirements in Alaska
- Minimum permit age: 14 years old (permit valid for 2 years)
- Minimum permit holding period: 6 months
- Minimum provisional license age: 16 years old
- Parent/guardian practice hours needed to get provisional license: 30 daytime; 10 nighttime
- Tests required to get provisional license: road test
- Nighttime driving restrictions: 1 a.m.– 5 a.m.
- Passenger restrictions: no passengers under the age of 21, except siblings
- Minimum age restrictions lifted: between ages 16.5 and 18 years old, depending on driving record
See the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles' Provisional Licensing page for more info.
Most commonly stolen vehicles in Alaska
The National Insurance Crime Bureau reports that the following cars were stolen most frequently in 2011:
- 1990 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 2003 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 1984 Chevrolet Pickup (small size)
- 2000 Dodge Pickup (full size)
- 2007 Ford Focus
- 1992 Ford Explorer
- 1994 Honda Civic
- 1990 Ford Taurus
- 1987 Ford Pickup (small size)
- 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Where cars are stolen
In 2011, Anchorage and Fairbanks, the top 2 areas for car thefts, had fewer than 1,000 thefts combined.
Alaska car insurance
Get the scoop on Alaska's car insurance laws.
The official site for the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles has info on licensing and vehicle registration.