alabama driver information
Welcome to our overview of Alabama driving. You'll find info on how to get your first drivers license, which cars are Alabama's most stolen, and how certain violations can impact your driving record.
Info for Alabama drivers
Number of licensed drivers: 3,782,000
Registered vehicles: 4,611,000
Licensing and registration authority: Alabama's Motor Vehicle Division
Alabama driving record points
Alabama has a point system for traffic violations that ranges from 2 to 6 points per violation. If you accumulate a certain amount of points (at least 12) over a span of 2 years, your drivers license will be suspended.
Suspension periods range from 60 days to one year and depend on the amount of points you've accumulated. The more points on a record, the longer the suspension.
DUIs in Alabama
Any Alabama driver with a BAC of 0.08 percent or above is considered legally intoxicated. The first time a driver is convicted of a DUI, fines range from $600 to $2,100, license suspensions last up to 90 days, and the driver faces up to one year in jail.
Reporting accidents in Alabama
In most cases, you'll need to notify the police or state troopers and file a Safety Responsibility Accident Report (SR-13) (PDF) whenever there's an injury or damages exceed $250.
Drivers in the military
If you're an active military member with a valid license from your home state, there's no need to get a new Alabama drivers license while you're stationed there.
If you're an Alabama driver in the military stationed out of state and you've been issued a new Alabama license within the past 4 years, you might be able to renew your Alabama license by mail.
Moving to Alabama
New residents of Alabama have 30 days to get their new Alabama drivers licenses and register their cars.
Stolen cars in Alabama
In 2011, the Birmingham and Mobile areas had relatively high theft rates. Birmingham had 3,350 reported car thefts, and Mobile had 1,354.
The 10 most stolen cars of 2011 in Alabama were:
- 1997 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- 2000 Ford Pickup (full size)
- 1996 Honda Accord
- 1997 Toyota Camry
- 1989 Chevy Caprice
- 2004 Chevy Impala
- 1998 Ford Explorer
- 1997 Ford Crown Victoria
- 1997 Mercury Grand Marquis
- 1999 Ford Taurus
Young drivers in Alabama
Alabama has a graduated licensing program, meaning there are steps all young drivers need to take before they're given an unrestricted drivers license.
Graduated licensing requirements
- Required classroom instruction hours: 30
- Minimum permit age: 15 years old
- Minimum holding period: 6 months
- Minimum intermediate license age: 16 years old
- Parent/guardian practice hours: none if enrolled in a driver's education course, 30 if not
- Nighttime restrictions: midnight–6 a.m.
- Passenger restrictions: only one passenger allowed (not including parents, legal guardians, or family members)
- Minimum age restrictions lifted: 17 years old
Alabama car insurance laws (and Esurance perks)
Make sure your policy is up to snuff with this convenient refresher.
Alabama's Motor Vehicle Division
The official resource for Alabama drivers.
Alabama Department of Transportation
Before you head out the door, see what's happening on the roads in your area and plan the best route.