get a vermont car insurance quote from esurance

or call 1-800-378-7262

(24 hours a day, 7 days a week)

vermont car insurance

Even though we don't insure Vermonters yet, there's no reason to feel blue if you live in the Green Mountain State. We still want to help you find car insurance rates as sweet as your famous maple syrup.

And with our interactive quote comparison tool, you can pour on the savings in a flash.

Getting a free Vermont car insurance quote takes mere minutes, and you'll be able to conveniently compare affordable car insurance rates from top names in the industry and snag the most bang for your buck for your coverage.

Car insurance discounts in Vermont

Ask your insurer about the following discounts, which may help you score some additional savings:

  • Homeowners discount
  • Multi-car discount
  • Paid in full discount
  • Driver training course discount
  • Good student discount
  • Anti-theft device discount
  • Carpooling discount
  • Claims-free discount

Discounts vary by insurer, but it never hurts to ask.

Coverages in Vermont

Required coverages

Vermont drivers are legally required to carry liability insurance with at least the following limits:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per incident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage per incident

Drivers also need the following amounts of Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage:

  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per person
  • $100,000 bodily injury coverage per incident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage per incident

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage helps pay medical expenses and repair costs for you and your passengers if you get into an accident caused by a driver without insurance, or without sufficient insurance to cover your accident-related expenses.

Optional coverages

Most insurance companies offer the following coverages in addition to basic liability:

  • Medical payments coverage
  • Collision coverage
  • Other than collision (aka comprehensive) coverage
  • Rental car coverage
  • Emergency road service
  • Loan/lease gap coverage
  • Electronic equipment coverage

Proof of car insurance

Vermont enforces a "Maintenance of Financial Responsibility" law, which means that all Vermont drivers need to have liability coverage in order to operate a vehicle.

Keep your insurance ID card in your glove box in case you're pulled over. Failure to show your insurance card upon request can lead to a fine of up to $100 and 2 points on your Vermont driving record. If you do have insurance but didn't have proof when you were pulled over, you have 15 days to present proof that you were insured at the time.

If you don't have active insurance when you're pulled over, your drivers license could be suspended until you can provide proof of coverage.

Factors that can impact your Vermont auto insurance rates

Different companies consider different rating factors, but you can generally expect the following to affect your car insurance rate:

  • Driving record and claims history
  • Prior insurance history
  • Age, gender, and marital status
  • ZIP Code where your car is parked
  • Year, make, and model of your car
  • Credit-based insurance score
  • How your car is used (commuting, pleasure, etc.)
  • The coverages, limits, and deductibles you choose
  • Discounts you qualify for

Insurance facts in Vermont

Uninsured drivers in Vermont

According to a 2011 Insurance Research Council report, Vermont had the fourth lowest rate of uninsured drivers in the country as of 2009. Seven percent of drivers in the Green Mountain State were uninsured, which was nearly 7 percent below the national average.

Vermont does require uninsured/underinsured coverage for all drivers. That way, you're financially protected from the roughly 7 percent of drivers who don't have the legally required coverage necessary to pay for post-accident expenses.

Alternative car insurance options

If you can't obtain a typical car insurance policy for your car or truck, you may be eligible for the Vermont Automobile Insurance Plan. You can get more information on this program from any state-licensed agent or broker in Vermont.

Related links

Driving with pets
Get a better understanding of driving with 4-legged family members in Vermont.

Vermont Insurance Division
Learn more about Vermont's official insurance regulations.

Wonder if you could be saving on car insurance?

Get your free quote online

or call 1-800-378-7262