get a tennessee car insurance quote from esurance

or call 1-800-378-7262

(24 hours a day, 7 days a week)

tennessee car insurance

The Volunteer State is home to a lot of things, like country music, the Graceland Mansion, and the Smoky Mountains, to name a few. High car insurance premiums, however, are not one of them. In fact, Esurance offers Tennessee car insurance rates so competitive you can't help falling in love.

We embrace a smarter approach to car insurance, with innovative online technology that saves residents of your state both time and money. When you get a free Tennessee car insurance quote, you can even compare rates between other top-name companies to make sure you're getting the most bang for your buck.

Tennessee car insurance discounts from Esurance

We're all shook up (in a good way) about all the awesome discounts we can offer drivers in Memphis, Nashville, and the rest of Tennessee. Here are some of our major money-savers:

  • Claim-Free discount
  • Fast 5® discount
  • Good Student discount
  • Homeowners discount
  • Defensive Driver discount
  • Multi-Car discount
  • Paid-in-Full discount
  • Switch & Save® discount

Discounts are subject to eligibility. If you already have an Esurance policy and have questions about discounts on auto insurance, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262).

Our Renters Plus® discount in Tennessee*

If you rent your home, you can protect your valuables from fire and theft by adding renters coverage to your policy — and save some dough on your car insurance in the process.

Tennessee auto insurance coverages

Required coverages

Tennessee drivers are required to have the following coverages and minimum limits on their policies:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
  • $15,000 for property damage liability coverage per accident

You'll often see these limits written as 25/50/15.

Optional coverages

These additional coverages give Tennessee motorists extra financial protection in the event of a claim:

  • Comprehensive coverage (may be required by a loan or finance company)
  • Collision coverage (may also be required by a loan or finance company)
  • Medical payments coverage
  • CarMatch Rental Coverage®
  • Emergency road service
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage
  • Uninsured motorist property damage coverage
  • Custom parts and equipment coverage
  • Loan/lease gap coverage

If you're an Esurance customer and have questions regarding your coverages, call us 24/7 at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262). Some exclusions may apply.

Esurance-approved car repair shops

If you take your car to one of Esurance's convenient E-star® shops, you can take advantage of guaranteed repairs and online repair monitoring through RepairView®.

Find an E-star shop near you.

Factors that can impact car insurance rates in Tennessee

Car insurance companies in Tennessee (including us) can take the following into consideration when determining your car insurance rate:

  • Your driving record
  • Your claims history
  • Where you live
  • The make and model of your car
  • Your age and gender
  • Your credit-based insurance score
  • The coverages, limits, and deductibles you select
  • Discounts you qualify for

Insurance facts in your state

Uninsured drivers

Tennessee has more than its share of uninsured drivers. A 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council estimated that, in 2009, 24 percent of Tennessee drivers were uninsured. That was well above the national average of 13.8 percent, and tied for the third highest amount of uninsured drivers in the U.S.

Uninsured motorist coverage, which is optional in the Volunteer State, offers financial protection against the 1 in 4 drivers who lack insurance.

Failure to provide proof of insurance

If you can't prove you have car insurance in Tennessee, you face a Class C misdemeanor which could include repercussions such as a $100 fine, suspension of your drivers license, and the inability to renew your vehicle's registration until you meet certain requirements. Keep a current auto policy and your insurance ID card in the glove box to avoid these penalties.

Better yet, just keep your smartphone handy. Now, state law allows digital proof of insurance in Tennessee, meaning you can pull up your ID cards on your phone if you ever get pulled over.

Plus, Esurance customers in your state can download our easy-to-use mobile app, access proof of auto coverage any time, and even save ID cards to their phones so they're available offline, too.

SR-22s

The state may require you to file an SR-22, otherwise known as a certificate of financial responsibility, if you're convicted of driving without car insurance, a DUI, or multiple traffic violations. Depending on the offense, you might have to file this document with the state (through your insurer) for up to 5 years.

Stolen cars in Tennessee

The National Insurance Crime Bureau reported that the most stolen cars and trucks in Tennessee in 2012 were:

  1. 1994 Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
  2. 1997 Ford Pickup (full size)
  3. 1996 Honda Accord
  4. 1998 Chevrolet Pickup (small size)
  5. 1999 Toyota Camry
  6. 2001 Dodge Pickup (full size)
  7. 1998 Honda Civic
  8. 2008 Chevrolet Impala
  9. 1997 Ford Explorer
  10. 1996 Ford Pickup (small size)

Comprehensive coverage, which is optional unless your loan or finance company requires it, offers financial protection in the event your car's stolen.

Related links

How to jump-start a car
Here's the scoop on jump-starting your car and emergency roadside assistance.

The Esurance Coverage Counselor®
We'll help you customize a policy that meets your Tennessee driving needs.

Wonder if you could be saving on car insurance?

Get your free quote online

or call 1-800-378-7262