Uninsured drivers in South Dakota
According to a 2011 report from the Insurance Research Council, 9 percent of South Dakota drivers were uninsured in 2009. This was well below the national average of 13.8 percent, but it still means nearly every tenth driver lacked adequate coverage.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage is required in South Dakota, so you'll have some financial protection in case you're injured in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
Proof of car insurance
Since auto insurance in South Dakota is mandatory, drivers need to carry proof of coverage in their vehicles.
In addition to a fine and possible jail time, your drivers license may be suspended if you're unable to provide proof of continuous coverage.
Luckily, it's easier than ever to show proof because state law now allows electronic proof of insurance coverage if you ever get pulled over.
If you're a South Dakota resident with an Esurance car insurance policy, you get automatic access to our free mobile app, where you can access your proof of insurance and other policy documents 24/7.
Documents verifying proof of insurance
The following documents can verify your South Dakota car insurance coverage:
- Your actual policy documents
- An insurance ID card
- A certificate of deposit issued by the State Treasurer
- A certificate of self-insurance