All North Dakota auto insurance policies need to have three coverage types: liability insurance, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP).
North Dakota drivers are legally required to maintain liability coverage with the following limits:
- $25,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per incident
- $25,000 of property damage coverage per incident
These limits will often appear as 25/50/25. Want more coverage? No problem — you can opt for higher limits when you get your North Dakota car insurance quote.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage
Car insurance in North Dakota also needs to include uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, with the same minimum limits as bodily injury liability (25/50).
These coverages offer financial protection in case you're injured in an accident with an at-fault driver who doesn't have enough ND auto insurance to pay your expenses.
Personal injury protection (PIP)
Additionally, state law requires you to maintain $30,000 of PIP coverage per person, which pays for medical expenses after an accident — including lost wages if you're unable to return to work, regardless of who caused the incident.
PIP does not apply to property damage, like car repairs.
These additional coverage options provide you with extra financial protection in the event of a claim, and can be real life-savers if life ever takes a turn for the worse. Get to know some of your options:
- Towing and labor
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- CarMatch Rental Coverage®
- Auto loan/lease gap coverage
- Custom parts and equipment coverage
Comprehensive and collision coverages may be required by your lease or finance company.
If you already have an Esurance policy and have questions about your coverages or would like to make changes to your policy, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262). Some exclusions will apply.