Uninsured drivers in Alabama
A report from the Insurance Research Council using data from 2009 estimated that 22 percent of Alabama drivers were uninsured, well above the national average of 13.8 percent. Adding uninsured motorist coverage to your policy can help pay for damage when the at-fault driver doesn't have insurance.
Proof of insurance in Alabama
As an Alabama resident, you'll need to provide proof of your Alabama car insurance anytime a police officer requests to see it. You could be fined $500 to $1,000 if you're convicted of driving uninsured.
Under state law, you can pull up your insurance ID cards on your phone, tablet, or other smart device if you ever need to provide proof of your car coverage.
Luckily, we make it easy for you with our convenient mobile app, which allows you to quickly access your Esurance ID cards and other various policy documents. Plus, you can save your cards to your phone so they're available offline.
Alternative insurance options
In order to legally drive without car insurance in Alabama, you'll need to make a deposit with the state or take out a Motor Vehicle Liability Bond (PDF) of no less than $50,000.